Wikio Wikio
Search Health-and-Age.org
Google Search
Loading..

« Low Testosterone, Increased Fracture Rate | Main | Dancing Like the Stars . . . »
Saturday
Oct142006

A New Test for Lung Cancer

There are over 150,000 lung cancer deaths in the USA each year. Te problem is that it’s difficult to detect early, when it’s most amenable to treatment, so the mortality rate remains high. Obviously, anything that would help an early diagnose would be extremely valuable.

A new test has now been reported that involves measuring a protein called tNOX in the blood. Normal cells produce the NOX enzyme only when they divide in response to growth hormone, while cancer cells produce a form of NOX – called tNOX – continuously. In preliminary tests in healthy non-smokers, apparently healthy smokers, and patients with lung cancer, the researchers from Purdue University and Mount Sinai, NY, showed hopeful results. There were no positive results in 140 non-smokers, 99% positives in lung cancer patients, and 12% positive in 175 apparently healthy smokers; 12% is roughly the incidence of positives seen in high resolution lung scanning techniques. These findings suggest the test could be used in smokers to detect those who need further – and more expensive - testing, such as high resolution computerized tomography (CT).

This test, if the findings are confirmed, is clearly a major advance. However, everyone stopping smoking would be an even greater advance, and maybe even render such tests obsolete before they’re available.

Reader Comments (1)

I have been looking at:

www.intune-distributors.com

It looked like a very good SCAM site. I was skeptical for several reasons. 1) The whois info was blocked by protectfly.com 2) The domain had been registered only a week before. 3) The website was of professional quality 4) the prices were reasonable.

I had an email conversation with the sales dept. The price for iPods was good, but the only payment method was a wire transfer to a Mr. Ling in Singapore. No escrow, CC, cod or anything else. No other documentation on the company would be provided.

I wrote it off as a scam, but since they had a "salehoo certified" sticker on their site, I emailed http://about-salehoo.com and asked about them. To my surprise, salehoo replied and said they were reputable and people were ordering ipods and psp without problem. (Ordering yes, but receiving..... )

Now I am not sure if it is a scam or not (http://salehoodropshipper.com) . I am tempted to order one iPod as a test, but I hate to waste $220 bucks. Any thoughts? I would love other opinions.

Jay

April 2, 2009 | Unregistered Commenterdanishimonking

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>